Friday, May 25, 2012

Passing the Test

Tuesday, May 8th.  A day that's certain to be deeply etched in the many wrinkles of my brain until the day I die.  MH was here visiting as she normally does this time of year.  Not that I don't love her company, but unfortunately for me, her visit came at a pretty  inopportune time this year.  

I was about a week late if you know what I mean.  I had taken a negative test the week before.  So when I sat down to take this test, I was sure nothing would come of it.  Boy was I ever wrong.  As I sat there watching the clock on my brand new iPhone tick down to the 3 minute mark, my eyes quickly glanced to the slowly changing sign on the stick.  It read: +. "Oh my God," I said outloud while I checked out my sleepy yet blushing face in the mirror.  "Oh my God, oh my God, oh my God."  Well, I wasn't expecting THAT (no pun intended).  

Since MH was here, I went about my morning as I normally would.  I kissed Jake good-bye and acted like my life hadn't been completely flipped upside down.  After about two hours of agonizing through work, I couldn't stand it anymore.  NO WAY I AM KNOCKED UP.  I decided to walk down to Walgreens to buy another test to see if this was really real.  Locked up in a case #notsurprising.  Determined as ever, I got in my car and drove to Kroger where I knew they would be on display for me to buy discretely.  I rushed home and took another test, surely this time I would see the minus sign indicating my failure at creating a child.  Nope.  Same old plus sign.  So I guess I'm really gonna do this.  Wow.

I called my doctor and made my appointment for two weeks later.  Two weeks???  What does a girl have to do to get people feeling some urgency around here?  You mean I have to wait two weeks before I can have someone confirm that the 2 for $3 Kroger tests are legit and I actually am pregnant??  

Jake, LR, MH and I went to Rockbottom that night and I of course abstained from the booze.   Let's face it, I'm not exactly a teetotaler, so we made a few jokes about how I must be pregnant.  I played along trying desperately not to give myself away.  Jake didn't even know yet, and I wasn't about to blurt it out at dinner.  We are talking about two of my best friends here, but I don't think Jake would ever forgive me if they found out at the same time he did!

I suffered through an hour of TV when we got home, wondering how I could tell Jake "hey by the way you knocked me up" without him screaming and MH overhearing our secret.  After TV was over, I was laying in bed trying to think of some good way to say this.  Clearly this was not how I had imagined one day telling my husband that I was going to bear his child.  But here I was, in bed, not knowing how to break the news.  He kept looking at me all funny, like he knew something.  It was like he had found the tests under the kitchen sink.  He turned away to take off his socks and as he turned back around to look at me again, I gave him the same funny look right back and word vomited "I'm pregnant". 

At first he didn't believe me.  Stood there with his hands on his head asking me over and over "are you really?"  Then he started to jump up and down and squeal at which point I had to remind him of our house guest and that this needed to be kept a secret at least until we could digest the fact that our lives had changed forever.  That...and maybe we should tell our parents first.  He joined me in our bed and hugged me and cried tears of joy. We stayed up for a few hours talking, laughing, and crying together.  This was more like what I had imagined.  

So that's the story of passing the test.  I wish I would have gotten this blog set up sooner, because the stories of how we have broken the news to some people are pretty good, but I'll save that for another post since this is quickly becoming the longest blog post in the history of blogs.  Maybe I'll have it in me tomorrow.  But for now, I'm going to take a nap.  Pregnant ladies need their sleep you know.

No comments:

Post a Comment