Total Weight Gain: 5 pounds so far. I am struggling bad with the numbers on the scale. I know it's healthy weight gain, and I know it's good for Monkey, but my "please don't ever let me weigh that much again unless I'm pregnant" number is fast approaching and even though I'm definitely pregnant, I'm still just having a hard time wrapping my head around this being a good thing. I hope other pregos can relate and I'm not just being a selfish crazy biatch!
Maternity Clothes: Well, the maternity dresses I ordered from asos.com are too small. I should have known that European sizes are for skinny bitches and they wouldn't fit these big mammaries, but I kind of assumed they would make the boobage area a little bigger since they are maternity clothes. KH and I went shopping on the 4th of July though and I got 3 dresses for $20/piece, which is about $90 less than what I spent on those dresses from Asos, so it's probably a good thing those other ones didn't fit! I think when I'm in Dallas next week I'll start searching for some good maternity pants since I'll be all alone with nothing to do but my favorite thing - SHOP!
Sleep: I'm happy to report that I think I have all my energy back. The sun and this 100 degree heat has definitely been draining me, but I'm thanking my lucky stars I'm not 9 months pregnant and ready to pop during this god-awful heat wave we've been dealing with the last 2-3 weeks.
Best Moment(s) This Week: Friday night we watched "21 Jump Street" (best movie I've seen in a long time by the way), and during the movie someone rang our doorbell and pounded loudly on the door. Jake walked outside to find our house had been sabotaged by balloons and streamers, with a little fruit baby sitting on the porch. Some of our favorite players had punked our house and we ended up finding them in our side yard and talking to them for about 20 minutes. It was really great to see them, and the food baby was adorable! We are going to miss them soooooo much next year while we're changing diapers and feeding a hundred times a day. Maybe then the teenager tude won't seem so bad :)
Gender: Still nothing on this front. I am super anxious for the end of August though. If this poor baby is a girl, she's going to have a complex because I have been calling her "he" and "him" for the last 2 months.
Movement: Nada. Monkey is the size of a lemon now. That is pretty big - how come I don't have a noticeable bump yet?
Food Cravings: I think I'm craving sweets more than salty. All this ice cream every night is going to catch up to me eventually, but I guess it's worth it :)
Symptoms: Still feeling pretty symptom free. My back has been sort of locking up when I bend over to pick stuff up, but I'm not sure if that's pregnancy related or just some of my sore/tight back symptoms I've had for most of my life.
What I Miss: Beer, duh. I have still been eating lunch meat, but I've been careful about where and when and how often I will eat it. I do kind of miss just walking over to Subway at lunch and ordering whatever I want and not worrying about the meat having been out for too long. I also miss fitting in my clothes.
What I am Looking Forward to: Going to Lexington this weekend for a friend's wedding and getting to see all of my besties! I can't wait! Not so looking forward to being away from Jake next week while I'm in Dallas for work, but a woman's gotta do what a woman's gotta do.
Noteworthy Items:
-We went crib shopping at Treehouse Kids Company on Friday while Jake and I were off work. Can you say "sticker shock"? I really want this nursery to be adorable, and I'm slowly accepting the fact that I'm going to have to spend more money on this baby's furniture in 6 months than I've spent on our bedroom over 5 years of marriage. On another note - I highly recommend all Cincinnati/NKY pregos checking this place out when starting your registry. The service there was fantastic and the stuff they have is so cute you could ooh and ahh the whole time you're there.
-Speaking of registries, I'm going to start loading up on some books (thanks to some advice from an old friend) and researching some stuff on the internet. I still have no clue where to start and I'm feeling extremely overwhelmed by the prospect of putting this thing together.
-Contrary to my whining at the beginning of this post, I am starting to get very sick of this "I ate too many burritos for lunch" look I'm currently rocking, and am anxiously awaiting the actual baby bump look. Hopefully by the end of July I will actually look pregnant. I am currently anti swimsuit in public places. I packed all of my "no chance these will fit by the time that season rolls around" clothes into two large bins over the weekend. I really love my clothes and it was pretty depressing to pack them up and hide them away for the next 6 months, but hopefully as soon as the babe comes I will be able to pull them out and use them for motivation to get back into shape. Fingers crossed.
-Congrats to my cute husband on his new job! He started today and I am really excited for him to be doing something new at a different bank :) He also did some house projects for us last week, one of which was installing a new ceiling fan in our bedroom (the plan is to move the old one to the guest bedroom, and install one in the nursery). He thought he was going to be able to do it on Thursday while he was off work, but because of the crap wiring in our house, it took 2 days and 2 extra sets of hands and brains (thanks Dad and Grandpa). The new fan is fab though, and our old fan is now sitting on the floor of our already crowded guest bedroom/office. Maybe Jake will install it next week while I'm out of town (hint, hint)?

No comments:
Post a Comment