Monday, March 21, 2016

Thirty-Eight Point Five

How Far Along: 38.5 weeks

Size of Peanut: Too big to still be hanging out in my uterus!

Total Weight Gain: I think it's best if I just stop weighing myself at this point.  Ain't nobody got time to be worrying about how I weigh almost as much as my husband who has chosen the most beautiful and poetic time in my life to go right ahead and lose 21 pounds.  He's cute ;)

Maternity Clothes: Thank goodness gracious for elastic.  My belly is so big I think I am starting to look like Rachel Greene on Friends right before she delivers Emma and the bottom of her belly hangs out from all of her tank tops.  Also cute ;)


Exercise: Well now that we've reached full FULL FULL term and Miss Macy still has not acknowledged her eviction notice that she was served last week at 38 weeks, I have been back at the exercising.  I've been hitting up Barre3 classes several times a week, and even though it's really hard and I end up being by far the sweatiest person in class, I am glad I've been able to work some muscles out a little bit the past two weeks.  My mom and I took Sam on a 3 mile walk last week and I have had so much nerve pain since then that I can hardly walk.  Yay for the end of pregnancy!

Sleep: Shockingly I haven't been sleeping too terribly, all things considered.  I think the mattress we settled on was a really good decision, and I look forward to sleeping on it as a single human, rather than as a human with a baby invading my uterus.  Sam woke up with a fever after her nap on Sunday, and struggled through sleep on Sunday night, so of course I did too.  I would be lying if I said I wasn't nervous about Sam's sleep, Macy's sleep, and Mommy's sleep in the coming months, but there are millions upon millions of other moms (and dads who sleep through screaming babies on baby monitors) who have survived life with more than one child.  I am fairly confident I can survive as well.

Best Moment(s) this week: Thinking about the fact that I'll only actually be pregnant for a maximum of 10 more days.  #winning #winningtimesonethousand #getthisbabyoutofmenow

Movement: Her feet/kicks continue to cause a lot of discomfort.  When she kicks it's usually straight up into my ribs or straight out the right side of my abdomen.  I continue to be one of the few women on the planet who does not think it's super cool to feel her baby move inside of her belly.  Maybe if she wasn't abusive to my poor ribs, bladder, and nerves, I would feel a little better about it.  But as it stands, I really prefer when she's sleeping.

Food Cravings: I'm basically sustaining myself on a diet of sugar upon sugar at this point.  If there's sugar to be had, I'm going to eat it.  The Easter candy I bought for Sam's Easter basket has been stuffed into the eggs for Easter morning, and all of the leftover candy is gone.  Because of me.  I ate all of it.  It's gone.  3-4 Reese eggs gone in one sitting.  I love me some sugar.

Symptoms:  And this is the point where I unleash my hatred of pregnancy on this blog.  What symptom do I not have at this point?  My sciatic pain is unbearable.  I have shooting nerve pain down both of my groins.  That fun symptom started as something that only happened when I was walking, but it's developed into something that happens even when I'm sitting down on the couch doing nothing.  It stops me in my tracks if I'm walking, and brings tears to my eyes regardless of what I'm doing.  It's super great.  My tailbone hurts for some reason.  I am in so much physical pain at this point that I may or may not have been prone to emotional breakdowns several times over the last few weeks.  I can't lay on my back for more than 30 seconds without feeling like I'm going to pass out.  I can't eat more than 100 calories in one sitting without feeling like I've been stuffed full of an 8 course Italian meal (how many calories are in one Reese egg?).  Essentially I feel awful after every meal because within 30 minutes of finishing, I can't breathe and I have unbearable reflux.  I have to use the little girls' room about every 15 minutes.  I think I mentioned awhile back that my boobs had overtaken my armpits, well now I think they are actually like coming out the back of my arms and can be seen from behind.  It's truly a sight to behold.  I'm growing really cute little baby hair on the top of my head, so I look like some sort of freakish peacock with hair sticking up off the top of its head.  My face is fat to the point where I look like my face has gained all of the 40ish pounds I've actually gained (please, no photos).  I guess the one thing I have going for me is that I'm only a little bit swollen.  Like to the point where I can still wear one of my wedding bands without it getting stuck on my hand, definitely can't wear all 3 though.  Forget about wearing any shoe that's not an Ugg boot or a flip-flop.  Every time I do, I just end up really sorry about it with Freddy Flinstone feet pudging out the sides.

It is quite literally not possible for me to be more OVER THIS.

What I Miss: All the things about not being pregnant.  All of them.  Every.  Last.  One.

What I am Looking Forward to:
I have a c-section scheduled for April 1st (for many reasons, doc doesn't want me going too far past my due date, which I am okay with).  I am really hoping to avoid surgery again, but I'm trying to get to the point where I am at peace with whatever ends up happening.  I have tried everything (except castor oil - which I'm seriously considering at this point - ha) to get this little stinker out of me on her own, and she just won't budge.  I think she got wayyyyy too comfortable while I was on bed rest and now she wants to stay put longer than she is welcome!  I feel like I'm on a clock to get her out of me before next Friday.  I'm just hoping and praying that she cooperates with her momma and comes out soon.  If not, it's possible she will be grounded for her first week year of life.

This pregnancy has been the most emotionally trying experience of my life.  From the minute we came back from Mexico and didn't get pregnant when we actually tried, to the minute the line on the pee stick was so faintly pink that I wasn't 100% sure it was actually real, to the morning sickness, to the SUA diagnosis, to the scare of pre-term labor, to still being pregnant at 38.5 weeks after being worried she was going to come at 32 weeks, this has been an emotional beating like nothing else I've ever experienced.  Throw in the fact that I'm 31 years old and living with my parents and we buried my dog in the fall, and I'm definitely ready for the joy, challenge, excitement and distraction of a new baby.

All jokes aside about how much I hate being pregnant, I am so beyond ready to meet this little babe.  I am ready to be a family of four.  I am ready to hold her and squeeze her and kiss her cheeks and love her like I love my little Sam.  It's time, Macy.  Mommy and Daddy and Sam, and so, so many more people are ready to meet you and love you and watch you grow.

No comments:

Post a Comment