Thursday, February 25, 2016

Thirty-Five

How Far Along: 35 weeks - just 2 more weeks until we are full term!

Size of Peanut: A coconut - no wonder I can't breathe and I pee every 5 minutes...

Total Weight Gain: I am up to about 32 pounds now.  After several weeks of no gain, I think my body finally changed all of its muscle to fat, and now I'm just adding more fat and poundage to myself.  We'll just pretend all of those pounds are amniotic fluid and Macy's weight.  I think I'm going to go with that.  Losing baby weight is going to be so much fun!

Maternity Clothes: Most of the tops I've been wearing my entire pregnancy were not actual maternity tops, just loose fitting tops.  They are no longer loose fitting, and basically look ridiculous on me now.  Good thing I'm spending most of my time at home and nobody but Jake, Sam and my parents have to look at me on a regular basis.

Exercise: I really really miss exercising.  I guess this is a good thing?  Typically when I stop exercising it's because I've decided that eating cookies and watching TV is more exciting than going to the gym.  Then I usually fall into a lazy routine where I don't do anything for several months and it's next to impossible for me to get back into a routine where exercise is part of my life again.  Maybe this time feels different because I was told I wasn't allowed to exercise, and it wasn't something I decided on my own.  I am so looking forward to being able to go for a long walk or a long run, or take a barre class again.  The only bad thing is, I know how badly it's going to MAJORLY SUCK the first time.  Yikes - but bring it on.

Sleep: We finally decided on a mattress.  We tried a topper for the Helix and I was still not a fan, so we're sticking with the mattress we got at mattress firm.  I'm sleeping as well as can be expected at this point in my pregnancy, so I'm just biding my time until Macy gets here and I can actually sleep comfortably again - INTERRUPTED - but comfortably.

Best Moment(s) this week: Let me just start by saying that bed rest SUCKS.  It SUCKS SO BAD.  Especially with a three year old who doesn't understand "Mommy needs to sit" and "Mommy can't hold you".   Laying around is fun for about 13 and a half minutes until it gets really old and boring and you want to get up and move.  That being said, I went to the doctor on Monday and got a good report.  I'm still only 1cm dilated, and he said she's still sitting head down, really low.  He also said I can start to move around a little more since we've made it to 35 weeks.  If I start to feel the contractions acting up while I'm up moving around, then just sit back down and kick my feet up.  I actually cleaned our room and helped put away dishes for the first time in 3 weeks and it's truly sad how amazing that felt.  My doctor also said that he really has a good feeling about me being able to do this VBAC, so that made me feel really good too.  I am just really hoping to go into labor on my own sometime after 36 weeks and push this baby out without a whole lot of intervention.  Is that too much to ask?

Movement: Macy's favorite activity time is right around 10:30pm.  You know, right when I'm trying to fall asleep every night.  It's really super awesome.  I remember Sam was active from like 3-4am so I'm not sure what's worse.  Of course neither of my babies decided that 3-4pm was a super fun time to be active every day.  The good news is, she moves a lot, which is always reassuring.

Food Cravings: I sound like a broken record - give me all of the cookies!!!!!!!!!!!

Symptoms:  I texted one of my besties this week and said that I had forgotten how much I truly despise the end of pregnancy.  There is really nothing appealing about it at all, except for the anticipation of meeting your new baby.  I am unbelievably uncomfortable, I use a roll of toilet paper every day, I can't breathe, my back is killing me, my boobs are out of control, I still have that shooting pain/rash/freak weird thing going on under my left boob, and my feet are starting to not fit in my shoes.  All I want is a bottle glass of wine and an empty bladder.

What I Miss: Wine and an empty bladder, obviously.  I also really miss being able to lay on my back for more than 15 seconds without feeling like I'm going to pass out.  I also miss laying on my stomach, but mostly my back.  

What I am Looking Forward to: Generally just not being pregnant anymore.  I think I have reached the point where I can't really look forward to much because I feel like at any minute I could go into labor.  I'm really more than anything just looking forward to meeting this sweet little babe.

Sam Tidbits: She just continues to melt my heart with her little sweetness.  One morning this week she woke up when I walked into her room and the first thing she said was "I love you Mommy".  She has started saying it unprompted on a fairly regular basis now, and I'm positive there is nothing sweeter in the world.

We have been trying to work on her Ls that sound like Ws, her lazy Rs, and her THs that sound like Fs.  She is kind of getting the hang of it, saying "I la-la-la-love you".  It's pretty cute.  I am not really concerned that these things won't just kind of fizzle out and fix themselves as she grows, but I also think we have reached a point where we need to at least try to get her to say things correctly.  I do want to get all of her cute misspoken words on video before she fixes them though!

I think she is really starting to understand that there is going to be a new baby soon.  She asked me one day this week if Macy was coming out today.  She seems pretty excited and she usually wants to give Macy a kiss (kiss my belly) when she gives me a kiss good morning or good-bye too.

I feel almost the exact same emotions I felt when I was at this point in my pregnancy with Sam.  I was so ready to be done being pregnant, and so SO excited to meet our little girl, but also kind of sad. I was sad that our little family of 2 that we had learned how to make function so well, was not going to exist anymore.  I feel the same way now.  I am so SO excited to meet this little girl too, and to be a mom to not one, but TWO beautiful girls (how lucky am I?), but I'm also nervous and scared and anxious about such a big change.  Parenting is hard and we have our challenges, but life is pretty cushy right now.  Sam can do a lot of things on her own and we have our little routines that work. We know we have a solid hour or two of alone time every night when she goes to bed.  We generally get to sleep the amount of hours we would prefer to sleep, and I haven't changed a diaper in almost a year!  My how things are about to change!  Just typing it all out is making me even more anxious.  But regardless of the angst and the change and the nerves, I really truly can't wait to meet her, and to see Sam be a sister.  My heart may explode just thinking about it.

No comments:

Post a Comment