Thursday, October 22, 2015

Seventeen

How Far Along: 17 weeks.

Size of Peanut: Onion.  Commence stank breath.

Total Weight Gain: I conveniently do not remember what my weigh in was last month at the doctor, but I did see what my weight was on the doctor's scale when I went this time (can we all just agree that a doctor's scale is the worst scale on the planet and obviously adds like 7 pounds?).  By my rough calculations, assuming that a doctor's scale at 11am is legitimately 3lbs heavier than my non-broken-at-home-first-thing-in-the-morning-scale would be, I have gained about 9 pounds.  I don't know if it's coincidence or what, but I went back to look at my weight gain at 17 weeks with Sam and I had gained 9 pounds then too.  I will conveniently try to only gain 20 more pounds this pregnancy so that I am not heavier than I was when I delivered Sam.  But even if I gain more than that, I am happy to be on the same track of weight gain I was on last time.  At least it's not worse.

Maternity Clothes: Thanks to an awesome sorority sister, I found myself some maternity workout capris at Target on sale for $22.  One point for the good guys gals.


Sleep: I cannot complain about this enough.  I would give anything to just sleep for a solid 7 or 8 hours and not have to readjust myself every 30 minutes.  I usually do okay from about 10:30pm to 2 or 3am.  Then from that time on, I am like a damn hot dog at a Speedway gas station the rest of the night.  Rolling around all night trying to numb the back pain.  It's obnoxious.  Not only that, but twice now this week I have been up from 4am to 5:30am without falling back to sleep for really no reason other than me not being able to turn off my woman brain for 5 minutes so I can get back to sleep.  Falling back to sleep at 5:30 only to have my alarm clock go off at 6 is almost worse than if I had just woken up for the day at 4am.  Giving up caffeine is not even remotely an option at this point if I want to make it through a workday.  Everything about this situation is dumb, stupid, annoying, obnoxious, and terrible (yes, I sound like a whiny middle schooler, no, I do not care).  I almost look forward to having a newborn sleeping pattern because at least I will be too exhausted to be uncomfortable.

Best Moment(s) this week: Since I just spent 2 minutes complaining about something I will most likely never stop complaining about, I'm going to be positive now!  I have two best moments this week - woohoo!

-I took Sam on a date last week.  On Friday Jake had volunteered to emcee an event for the Special Olympics, so Sam and I were on our own.  I think it was the first time she and I have gone out to a "sit down" restaurant by ourselves.  I am really classy and fancy, so I took her to Frisch's.  I was craving a Big Boy, a whole lotta ranch, and a hot fudge sundae.  She was really really cute and so well behaved the whole time.  After we shared our sundae like we were truly on a date (she actually laughed at one of my jokes and told me I was really funny), we went home and got in our PJs and slippers and watched Toy Story together.  I went from being relatively annoyed that Jake was not home on a Friday night, to having the best first date of my life.  She's got my whole heart. #thatface


-We sold our house!  Woo!  It's not 100% official yet, we still have to pass an inspection and appraisal.  However, we have come to terms on a contract with a buyer.  Fingers crossed for smooth sailing from here on out.  If all goes according to plan, my parents will have some new roommates come November 30th (insert the hands to the screaming face emoji here).

Gender: No news here.  Same old, same old, Jake wants to find out but I wish he had enough strength to hold out with me.  We have the ultrasound appointment scheduled for November 13.  Yes, that's a Friday.  Eeeek!

Movement: So maybe what I was feeling before was actually gas?  I haven't felt a whole lot of itty bitty movements in the last week, maybe just a few sporadic ones here and there.  I have to be honest, this is the point where I kind of wish the baby was a little bit bigger so that I could really feel everything and know that he or she is okay in there.  Feeling nothing is a little scary, even though I'm not really supposed to be feeling anything yet.

Food Cravings: I have come to the realization that if it's healthy, I don't want it.  If it's junk and will make me feel like poo, it sounds great.  With the exception of an apple or banana as a snack, most vegetables don't sound great.  Skyline, cookies, pizza, ice cream, french fries on the other hand?  Give me those all hours of the day.  I will surely feel like crap when I'm done eating it, but damn it tastes good going down.

Symptoms:  I thought maybe the headaches were easing up, but I had a headache for 48 hours straight this week.  I spent an entire day taking Tylenol every 4 hours and it basically did nothing for me.  I also have sharp pain in my lower abdomen that I can attribute to ligament stretching.  That is super fun to deal with.  I have been sneezing like a maniac, and I don't know if I can really blame that on pregnancy, but I'm going with it.

What I Miss: I have reached the point during my exercise classes where I feel like the 50 and 60 year old ladies are in better shape than me.  That's not to say there aren't some really in shape and badass 50 and 60 year old ladies - props to them for kicking tail at that age - however, I'm only 30.  It's really depressing to me to not really be able to do a push up anymore. Just today I was jumping rope and each jump felt like my bladder was going to fall through my hoo-ha.  I promptly stopped the jumping and switched to a new activity.  Yikes.  So what I miss: not feeling like I'm going to pee while jumping rope, and doing push-ups without falling on my face due to lack of arm strength/stamina.

What I am Looking Forward to: IF MY SISTER WOULD JUST HAVE HER DAMN BABY ALREADY...............

Sam Tidbits: 
Sam had several quotable moments this week, I will share some with you now:
-We were on our way home from Frisch's and she squeezed her to-go water cup and the ice spilled all over her pants in her car seat.  She said "Mommy - I made a mess.  I'm a hot mess."  I told her she was on the hot mess express, and she has used that phrase several times since last Friday.
-One morning this week she was sitting on our bed while Jake and I were getting ready for work.  She looked at Jake and said "Daddy can I have a lollipop because I'm cute?"  I just don't even know what to say about this because she tried to use it on me again later.  I guess I need to stop telling her she's cute?
-We went to a pumpkin patch on Sunday and she thought that was pretty awesome.  She picked out her own pumpkin this year and brought it home to paint it.  Her concentration was enough to make me lose my mind.  Please check out her tongue:


Callie update:
-She has still been acting pretty lazy and lethargic lately.  She also seems to have lost some of her appetite.  She goes for another check up on November 3rd.  I am just hoping that we will know when it's time to say good-bye, and we don't ignore signs of her being in pain.

No comments:

Post a Comment