Thursday, January 28, 2016

Thirty-One

How Far Along: 31 weeks (I'd love to jump up and yell "HALLELUJAH", but 9 weeks is a long-ass time).  At least we are in single digit weeks left now!

Size of Peanut: So we're back to pineapple now?  Either thebump.com is crazy, or I don't know how to read...

Total Weight Gain: I was about a pound heavier on my scale at home than I was at the doctor's office 2 weeks ago.  Seeing as I have no idea what my weight ever was on that scale at home (other than my wedding day weight 8 years ago since I was still living at home then), I really have no clue what my weight gain was this week.  However, now I have a baseline to keep this ass in check for the next 9 weeks.

Maternity Clothes: Not maternity clothes per se, but I went ahead and ordered a post-partum waist support band for after delivery.  I wanted it to be here and not have to worry about it once Macy is born, so I figured I might as well go ahead and get it.  Talk about overwhelming amounts of information - there are about 4,000 waist support bands to choose from to help with recovery after birth (and most especially c-sections).  I used the one the hospital gave me after I had Sam, but based on everything I've read, it seems the ones you can purchase independently are more supportive and effective.  The one from the hospital definitely helped me feel better in my midsection after I had Sam, but it gave me a rash on my stomach so I had to wear a tank under it every time I wore it, and it stretched out so much the first couple of weeks that I hardly felt like it did much after that.  I'm hoping this one I ordered will help with support if I do have to have a c-section again.  And even if I don't, I'm hoping it will help with posture/back support and getting my stomach and organs back in order after pushing this baby out!
I also bought some bigger underwear so I don't wake up in the morning with indentations from them being too small.  It's okay to laugh - it's funny that my ass is so big I had to buy bigger panties :)


Exercise: I'm still doing pretty well on this front.  The kudos at the gym at work from other women are definitely nice to hear.  Even though I know I'm going to continue to get more uncomfortable and doing physical activity is going to get harder and harder, I feel like if I've made it this far, there's really no reason to stop now or anytime soon.  I'm just kind of taking it a day at a time and seeing how my body feels when I do certain things.

Sleep: One of my friends is the biggest life saver on the planet and I seriously owe her big time.  She told me when she was pregnant she was told to make sure that when laying on her side, her knee was higher than her hip.  I had been sleeping with one pillow in between my knees while sleeping, but my knee was definitely not even the same height as my hip.  Based on her advice, I added another pillow in between my knees to elevate my knee even more, and my sciatic pain has subsided SO MUCH.  Last week I was almost in tears over the shooting pain down my butt and backs of my legs (if you couldn't tell by all of the yelling/caps lock in last week's post), but I feel so much better now.  I'm not going to say I'm pain free, because it definitely still comes and goes throughout the day, and I'm not really sleeping a whole lot better, I still wake up every couple of hours and need to readjust. However, my sciatic nerves wake up feeling 100% better than they did last week, and for that, I am eternally grateful!  Thank you Kellie!!

Movement: I had a moment one morning this week where I freaked out a little bit that I hadn't felt Macy move in a while.  It was around 9:30am and I realized I hadn't really felt her move since the night before.  I jiggled my belly a little bit and she started going crazy.  She has been really active since then, so I guess maybe she was just a little sleepy and not moving much.  Maybe she'll come into the world sleeping 12 hours a night - BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.  But seriously though - the mom worry does not subside from the instant you learn you are pregnant.  I will generally feel so much better when she is out of my body and in my arms and I know exactly what she's doing.

Food Cravings: I went right ahead and made that chocolate cake I was craving.  And it was delicious.  And I'll probably eat 90% of it on my own.  And when it's gone I might make another one.  I'm not even sorry.  Get in my belly.

Symptoms:  I'm pretty sure I'm having massive amounts of Braxton-Hicks contractions. All throughout the day, almost every day for the last week, I have felt a lot of cramping and a lot of pressure.  Since I never felt a contraction of any kind with Sam, I can't be sure that's what this is, but I'm pretty sure.  I feel like this is probably a good sign for being able to labor on my own rather than be cut open again, but who really knows.  I also still have this weird rash kind of thing on the left side of my chest where my bra sits...kind of in between my belly and my lady bumps.  It doesn't really look like a rash, but it feels like a rash/skin irritation and my skin is also really hot right where it hurts.  I don't really have it on my right side.  It's really uncomfortable and awful.  I am possibly a hypochondriac about this rash/whatever it is. My sciatic nerve pain is better, but as I mentioned before, it's not gone.  I still can't really breathe very well in certain positions, and I spent the entire hour of church on Sunday trying to get myself comfortable in the pew.  Jake told me I looked like a "damn cartoon".  Thanks babe, next time we have a kid (not happening), you can carry it in your midsection for 9 months and see how you like it.  K byeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

What I Miss: Once I again I generally just miss NOT being pregnant.  I am definitely a better mother than I am a pregnant lady, and I just really really look forward to the day I can hold Macy in my arms rather than in my belly.  I guess it would be too much to ask to give up being pregnant for Lent, and that's definitely a little too early for her to make her appearance, so I'll just SUCK IT UP BUTTERCUP for the next 9 weeks.  Pray for me.

What I am Looking Forward to: So Jake has been training for the Flying Pig Half Marathon.  He actually joined a running group and has been sticking to his schedule really well, except for the fact that he has done NO cross-training and I keep trying to get on him to do something else, but he kind of just refuses to listen to me.  In typical man fashion, he has lost like 12 pounds in 3 weeks by eating better and hitting the pavement A LOT.  So the point of me saying all of this is 2-fold.  #1 - I have said this before, but I really miss running.  Listening to him talk about his runs has me reminiscing about that time on the pavement all by myself with a playlist full of jams, sun on my face, and sweat literally everywhere.  I know it's far away, but I am really looking forward to my first run post-baby. #2 - I mean I guess I could do things like NOT eat half of a double layer chocolate cake in 3 days, and NOT eat half a bag of potato chips in one sitting, but what kind of fun is that when your waistline is expanding anyway?  I am looking forward to getting on the scale to track weight LOSS rather than weight GAIN.  It's a long way off, but when your man is getting smaller and smaller while you continue to get bigger and bigger, you've gotta focus on something, even if it is a long way away.

Sam Tidbits:
-I'm not saying she's bipolar, but she is definitely a three year old.  I swear she goes from being the most delightful child I could just squeeze and kiss all over, to being the most obnoxious threenager I've ever seen in my life who I'd like to just throw right out the window.  She spent all day Sunday being so pleasant and cute and polite (to the point where I looked at my mom and said "who is this kid?").  Then she woke up from her nap and whined about literally everything for an hour straight and I was ready to go postal.  What the ever-loving-heck am I supposed to do with this behavior?!

-I don't feel like I'm one of those people who has their nose shoved in their phone all the time. Sure, I will get caught up in a group text and get distracted by the conversation, but I don't generally sit and scroll through Facebook or Instagram when I'm in the company of others unless it's during a commercial break or there's really nothing else going on.  I keep my phone away from the table at dinner and in my purse when I'm out.  However, several times in the last couple of weeks I have found myself having to clarify to Sam what I'm doing on my phone because she has straight called me out for looking at my phone.  "Mommy, you aren't looking at me you're looking at your phone!"  She called Jake out on MLK day when he was home with her.  He was texting me about something and she said "Daddy get off of your phone!"  It's scary how observant they are, and I desperately need to figure out a way to detox from my phone that I carry around with me all of the time, whether I'm staring at it or not.  I don't want Sam to grow up thinking I loved my phone more than I loved her.  #wakeupcall #parentingin2016 #wheresthemanual

-And then she woke up from her nap with Vaseline all over her face to help with her chapped lips.  And I couldn't even function as a human because I was laughing so hard.  This child, she kills me.

-Thursday morning as I was combing her crazy hair, she was reading The Little Mermaid in chubby book form.  She said "look Mommy, she's marrying a prince!  I want to marry a prince!"  So she's 3 years old, hasn't really ever had any kind of obsession with princesses (other than Frozen - which in my personal opinion sends a completely different message than the fairy tales I grew up watching), and already, she wants to marry a prince.  I looked at her and said "You know what Sam, I wanted to marry a prince when I was a little girl too.  But you know what?  Your daddy is better than a prince." As if on cue, Jake walked in.  When I told her what she said, he said "you will find your own prince one day, and hopefully he'll be just like daddy."  Hopefully indeed, sweet girl.

-And on top of all of this crazy, yet completely normal parenting life that went on this week, this happened.  I was playing with Sam yesterday and she asked me if I would come back to her room with her to get something (I believe it was Baby Jesus - who is back to being Baby Jesus after a 2 day hiatus).  Usually when she asks me to come back to her room with her to get something that she can easily carry herself, I tell her she is a big girl and she can do it herself and I will be waiting for her right here.  This time I obliged to her request and followed her down the hall.  As we were walking down the hall she turned around and looked at me and said "you're a good mommy".  Well excuse me while I clean up this puddle mess of my heart on the floor right here.  How is it that one little phrase from a 3 year old can just plain make your day/week/month/year/life?  Parenting is the most challenging, brutiful, incredible, terrifying thing on the planet, but every once in a while, I feel like I must be doing something right.  So I guess bring on baby #2?


No comments:

Post a Comment